Innovative intergovernmental cooperative effort to upgrade lighting in 35 SE PA communities will save almost one million dollars annually

May 1: Press event with local and state officials, behind-the-scenes look at the new equipment

Philadelphia, PA – Thirty-five communities in southeastern Pennsylvania will upgrade to LED streetlights using an innovative intergovernmental cooperative process. The effort is known as the Regional Streetlight Procurement Program and is led by the Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission (DVRPC) in concert with the Pennsylvania Sustainable Energy Finance Program (PennSEF) offered by state Treasurer Joe Torsella and the Pennsylvania Treasury Department and the Foundation for Renewable Energy and Environment.


Lighting costs typically account for 60-70% of a local government’s energy budget. The project upgrades more than 26,000 streetlights, exterior lights, and traffic signals. The 35 municipalities will achieve annual reductions of over 10,000 megawatt hours; 5,400 metric tons of CO2 emissions; and almost one million dollars in annual energy and operating costs. Construction is underway and is expected to be completed by the end of 2017.

Program details on the guaranteed energy savings project, including taxpayer cost savings, will be discussed during the press event and reception. The event will offer a behind-the-scenes look at the new LED lights and technology and the impact of the project in southeastern PA. Program partners will detail project savings and information on this model that can now be replicated by other local governments in Pennsylvania.


Joe Torsella, PA State Treasurer

The Honorable Valerie Arkoosh, MD, MPH, Chair of the Montgomery County Board of Commissioners and DVRPC Board

Barry Seymour, DVRPC Executive Director

Stephanie Teoli Kuhls, Township Manager, Middletown Township, Bucks County

Dr. John Byrne, Chairman and President of the Foundation for Renewable Energy and Environment

Representatives from the 35 participating communities, Keystone Lighting Solutions, Johnson Controls, environmental and energy experts


DVRPC’s Regional Street Lighting Procurement Program (RSLPP) assembled the resources needed to design, procure, and finance the transition to LED street lighting and other outdoor lighting needs tailored to each municipality’s specific needs.

PennSEF brought significant legal, financial, and energy performance contracting and technical expertise that established the foundation for success of the project. By leveraging this expertise, the project complied with the Guaranteed Energy Savings Act of PA.

By pooling buying power as enabled through PennSEF, local governments achieved economies of scale in purchasing that saves taxpayer dollars, construction, and financing – significantly lowering upfront costs of the projects, which allowed some local governments to participate that might otherwise not have been able to obtain the funding to do so.

There will be the opportunity to interview both the state Treasurer and Dr. John Byrne, who developed the PennSEF program and is chairman and president of the Foundation for Renewable Energy and Environment. Dr. Byrne is a member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, the leading international body for the assessment of climate change that was jointly awarded the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize.

Keystone Lighting Solutions served as DVRPC’s technical advisor, and Johnson Controls Inc. is the Energy Services Company servicing the first round of the project.


Monday, May 1, 2017: 3 p.m.


WESCO Distribution, Inc.
2505 Boulevard of the Generals, Eagleville, PA 19403
Parking is available in the lot in front of the building.


The participating communities are:

Montgomery County (11) – Cheltenham Township, Hatfield Township, Jenkintown Borough, Lansdale Borough, Lower Moreland Township, Lower Pottsgrove Township, Schwenksville Borough, Springfield Township, Towamencin Township, Upper Dublin Township, Whitemarsh Township

Delaware County (14) – Aston Township, Brookhaven Borough, Collingdale Borough, Darby Borough, East Lansdowne Borough, Glenolden Borough, Lansdowne Borough, Marcus Hook Borough, Media Borough, Millbourne Borough, Morton Borough, Newtown Township, Rutledge Borough, Yeadon Borough

Bucks County (7) – Bensalem Township, Buckingham Township, Middletown Township, New Britain Township, New Hope Borough, Newtown Borough, Warrington Township

Chester County (3) – Kennett Square Borough, Phoenixville Borough, Uwchlan Township


The Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission is dedicated to uniting the region's elected officials, planning professionals and the public with the common vision of making a great region even greater. Shaping the way we live, work and play, DVRPC builds consensus on improving transportation, promoting smart growth, protecting the environment, and enhancing the economy. We serve a diverse region of nine counties: Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia in Pennsylvania; and Burlington, Camden, Gloucester and Mercer in New Jersey. DVRPC is the official metropolitan planning organization for the Greater Philadelphia Region - leading the way to a better future. For more information, visit

Share on Social Media